~~PEPINO MELON FRUIT~~EXOTIC ( Solanum Muricatum ) SHRUB~~

Yup, I bought it…am trilled, excited and jumping up and down already like a big kid…..he he he

Wowwwww, …Yayyyyy….It is coming next week on Wednesday via special night fast delivery.

It is an good healthy cut, + some 15 to 20 seeds ( Just in case I loose it in Frost here )…Price you ask ??  ….WORTHLESS, just $15 Au, Free delivery included….How’s that for an BARGAIN ??

GREAT GIFT FOR THE SELF SUFFICIENT GARDENER

 

 

THE PEPINO 

Solanum muricatum.

This one is well worth a try.

Fruit tastes like golden honeydew rock melon and yes, it will grow in cold climate but frost intolerant.

Pictures are of fruit from a mature Pepino plants.

This is the best crop I have had seen, with each fruit weighing aprox 460 grams and several just over 1/2 a kilo.

This bush is growing out of two car tyres…AMASSING

What I have learned best from other cultivators is to plant new cuttings in the middle of the well fertilised veggies patch instead of beside it or in usual spot like this old bath tub. 

 

 

Fast growing,exotic,satin like fruit streaked with purple stripes and varying in colour from golden-yellow to apricot.

The pale yellowish-green flesh has a juicy melon-like texture.
 It is a delicious subtle flavoured fruit similar to a Honeydew or Rock-melon

This plant is a consistent fruiter.

This is the size of the fruit you can expect from a plant aprox 2 years old

 


The biggest fruit ( like one in next pic) are from new plants.

Pepino flower

 

This small bush that resembles a tomato vine and grows to approximately three feet in height certainly is a MUST HAVE in any veggie garden.

Once planted and fertilised you will reap the rewards in no time.

Growing notes accompany this plant.

My Pepino story..( From an old Gardner )

Worth a read.  


Once upon a time while visiting relatives one Christmas

I was offered a taste of an unusual fruit which was proudly plucked from an ordinary looking bush by my sister in law.

I really liked the fruity taste as I ate a slice …skin and all, and I said

“I gotta get one of them plants”

That’s coming from someone who has to have

everything that is different and unusual

 WELL!!!……..the second I blurted that out ,my excited sister in law took me out to the back of the house and to my surprise just reafed out a piece of a Pepino plant with little Pepino’s dangling off it every where.

“Here! give this a go”…she said

“OH! …UM!….THANKS” …I said.

 I took it home and just cut it up into several pieces  and planted it to the side of the vege patch

.I really didn’t expect it to live as it was a bit of a mess when I got it home.

Well!… within a few weeks it was starting to look like a plant again.

After 2 months I could see fruit developing.

At about 3  months we were eating this yummy fruit in our fruit salads .

 It just doesn’t stop fruiting.

* I like start a new Pepino patch every year so I use fresh cuttings from the previous 1 year old plant * 

Thank you for looking ….Louise

 

 

Leave a Reply

